Mach-E Forum | Ford Mustang Mach-E Forum and News banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Premium Member
2018 Fusion Energi Burgundy Velvet Platinum
755 Posts
If I read correctly the Ford MME charger is a mobile charger. They will sell you a hard wired unit w or w/o installation as an option.. I opted to have a licensed electrician install a 50A breaker with the appropriate outlet box. This will give me a 40A charge which I believe is 22 miles vs the hardwired 32miles charge

·
Premium Member
755 Posts
Not being an electrician, I may be incorrect here but I believe that a 40 amp unit will give you an 80% sustained 32 amp charge

·
Registered
Reserved First Edition Rapid Red Metallic
725 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I see the Juice Box 40 amp on Amazon is $599 so the Costco price of $549 is $50 cheaper, correct?

·
Super Moderator
1,223 Posts
Correct. But I said more choices. Amazon has the EV Gear, same stats as the JuiceBox, for $449.99.
From the press briefings, Ford is partnering with Amazon home services to install the optional Ford-branded 48a charger and work it into the purchase agreement. You can still opt to buy other chargers and arrange installation yourself.

·
Registered
Reserved First Edition Rapid Red Metallic
725 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I also believe that the MachE will come standard, at no extra charge, with a 120/240 volt charger that charges at 3 miles per hour on 120 volt volt charger and 22 miles per hour on the 240 volt charger

"It will come standard with both 5-15 and 14-50 swap-able adapter plugs..."

"The Ford Mobile Charger with its 14-50 plug, on a dedicated 40/50amp circuit (so, an electric-oven outlet), will pull 32 amps, giving the Ford Mach-E Mustang RWD 22 miles of range per hour. That’s 264 miles of range over a 12 hour period, surely enough for 99%+ of drivers. BUT, if you really need more, Ford is also offering a hardwired, 48 amp wall box, which will get you 32 miles of range per hour. "