Mach-E Forum | Ford Mustang Mach-E Forum and News banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am not a financial professional so I was wondering about how the current availability of tax credits might impact the lease vs. buy decision. Specifically, the fact that these tax credits might not be available when the lease expires. I know that traditionally the lease/buy decision is based on the length of time you expect to keep the car and the number of miles per year that you expect to drive. But does this calculation need to be extended to consider the fact that tax rebates may not be available in the future.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Keep in mind the only way to lease an MME is through a third party leasing firm. Ford is instead offering Ford Options, which is a loan structured to work similarly to a lease. (Or you can pay cash or do a traditional style loan through Ford or some other lender.)

At any rate, the federal tax credit is based on when the car is first registered. Length of ownership doesn't matter.

So if you take ownership at the end of 2020, then you are credited up to $7,500 towards your 2020 tax liability. If you take ownership in 2021, then up to $7,500 is credited towards your 2021 tax liability.

It's a "non-refundable" credit, so thus up to $7,500 instead of being exactly $7,500. If your tax liability minus other credits that you qualify for is less than $7,500, then the credit you'll receive will be less.

·
Registered
2016 Nissan Leaf, 2021 Mustang Mach-E First Edition reserved
1,134 Posts
Lots of incentives on other BEVs are tilting the lease vs buy one way or the other:

EV deals: Leaf, i3, I-Pace incentives boost buying, but leasing remains better for most
Stephen Edelstein
STEPHEN EDELSTEIN AUGUST 19, 2020

The advantages between leasing versus buying electric cars are currently blurred by some especially strong sales incentives.